You are currently viewing The Delhi Metro has grown remarkably, surpassing 390 kilometers to become India’s longest metro network.

The Delhi Metro has grown remarkably, surpassing 390 kilometers to become India’s longest metro network.

The Delhi Metro network has achieved a significant milestone by becoming the longest metro route in the country. This accomplishment was made possible with the opening of the Dwarka Sector-21 to Yashobhoomi Dwarka Sector–25 Metro section on the Airport Express Line corridor. The rapid transit network in the city now spans an impressive 393 kilometers, featuring 288 stations. This count includes the Noida – Greater Noida Metro Corridor and Rapid Metro in Gurugram.

Delhi Metro, operated and maintained by the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC), serves not only the national capital but also its neighboring cities such as Noida, Ghaziabad, Faridabad, Ballabgarh, and Gurugram. It initially commenced operations on December 25, 2002, with the launch of the service from Shahdara to Tis Hazari on the Red Line.

The Delhi Metro system currently encompasses more than 10 lines, each catering to various parts of the city and its suburbs. These lines are:

  1. Red Line (Line 1)
  2. Yellow Line (Line 2)
  3. Blue Line (Lines 3 and 4)
  4. Green Line
  5. Violet Line
  6. Pink Line
  7. Magenta Line
  8. Grey Line
  9. Airport Express Line or Orange Line
  10. Rapid Metro (RMGL)
  11. Aqua Line

Here’s a brief overview of some of the key corridors and their characteristics:

  • Red Line: This 33.48-kilometer-long line boasts 29 stations and four major interchanges at Welcome, Kashmere Gate, Inderlok, and Netaji Subhash Place.
  • Yellow Line: Stretching over 47.25 kilometers from Samaypur Badli to Millenium City Centre Gurugram, the Yellow Line comprises 37 stations and features eight interchanges.
  • Blue Line (Lines 3 and 4): This extensive network spans 55.56 kilometers, connecting Dwarka Sector-21 to Noida Electronic City with 50 stations and 10 interchanging facilities.
  • Green Line: Covering 27.96 kilometers, the Green Line includes 24 stations and four key interchanges at Kirti Nagar, Inderlok, Ashok Park Main, and Punjabi Bagh West.
  • Violet Line: With a length of 45 kilometers, the Violet Line incorporates 34 stations and five interchanges at Kashmere Gate, Mandi House, Central Secretariat, Lajpat Nagar, and Kalkaji Mandir.
  • Pink Line: This 57.49-kilometer-long line stretches from Majlis Park to Shiv Vihar, featuring 38 stations and 11 interchanges.
  • Magenta Line: Spanning 34.12 kilometers, the Magenta Line comprises 25 stations and includes four interchanges at Janak Puri West, Hauz Khas, Kalkaji Mandir, and Botanical Garden.
  • Grey Line: Covering 4.98 kilometers from Dwarka to Dhansa Bus Stand, the Grey Line consists of four stations, with an interchange station at Dwarka.
  • Airport Express Line: The 24.9-kilometer-long Airport Express Line (AEL) has seven stations and provides three interchanges at New Delhi, Dhaula Kuan, and Dwarka Sector-21.
  • Rapid Metro (RMGL): This 10.58-kilometer route, stretching from Sector 55/56 to Phase 3, features 11 stations and offers one interchange facility at Sikanderpur.

The expansion of the Delhi Metro network to become the longest in the country reflects its vital role in providing efficient and convenient public transportation options for the residents of Delhi and its neighboring areas.


Leave a Reply